Connecting with Grandmother Moon

 

img_6654Have I ever said how much I love working with my Moon Bowl? Probably!

Yes, I have charts and apps that tell me precisely where in her cycle Grandmother Moon (Seanmháthair Gealach) is at any time, but I love this fundamental and physical connection between my altar and the Moon… and me🌙

On the New Moon, my Moon Bowl is empty to represent the darkness of that phase… no light at all, not even a glimpse of the waxing crescent. I select 15 items to represent the days of the waxing and waning cycle, and place them on the plate under the bowl. Sometimes I use the same 15 items and other times I select others…. beach pebbles, crystals, acorns, pony beads, bits of paper. You can use anything you are drawn to.

Each day I select one item from the plate, and hold it to my heart chakra, feeling its energy, asking for its wisdom or even asking a direct question (and sometimes I pull a card for even more illumination and wisdom). Once that ritual is complete, I add it to the Moon Bowl. I do that every day until the Moon is full, and the bowl is full. I can literally feel the energy building as the Moon waxes to fullness.

On the first day of the waning moon, I turn the Moon Bowl the other way and start removing items, using the same wisdom process, each day until the bowl is empty again at the Dark Moon /New Moon.

So, even if I can’t see the moon due to our rainy Vancouver weather, I can look at my Moon Bowl and – by counting the stones on the plate and the position of my bowl –  I know how close we are to the next Full or New Moon. Sometimes I have to adapt it a little, as the moon cycle is 29.5 days… and you can’t have “half a stone”! The next Full Moon is very soon (I took this pic yesterday), arriving in Vancouver on May 21 at 2:14 pm Pacific Time (21:15 UTC).t

The plate itself becomes an altar on its own (and I also place it on my outdoor altar most of the time), with an element for each direction and some additional stones to represent the Divine Feminine and Divine Masculine in all their manifestations… Goddess, Green Man, Triple Goddess, Gaia, Pachamama, etc. I often use natural elements from Mother Earth for the seasons, such as a shell for West, a feather for East, etc. Make it uniquely yours with your personal favourites.

The altar cloth also represents Earth, as it was handmade and eco-dyed with leaves and cochineals (thank you @ffrench for teaching me this!!)

How do you connect with the energy of Seanmháthair Gealach, Grandmother Moon?


Pronunciation Tip:

Seanmháthair Gealach, Irish Gaelic for Grandmother Moon, 
is pronounced “Shan-waw-her Gee-al-ack”

And a special thanks to Maia Toll, who introduced me to the Moon Bowl concept.


 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

