Embracing Autumn: entraining with Mother Earth


I am currently participating in a #100DaysOfRitual challenge on Instagram (you can follow me there @innerjourneyevents or follow my challenge posts by using the tag #IJE100DaysOfRitual). I love this challenge, as I get to share not just the special rituals I follow (such as those at the Full or New Moon, or on special days in Wheel of the Year such as Lughnasadh, Beltaine, etc), but the simple things I do to bring (back) the  magick and the sacred into my life.

Today is Day 29/100, and I am gathering autumn leaves… and yes, “officially” it is still summer, as many of us accept the first day of Autumn as the Fall Equinox, which this year falls on September 22nd.

But in the Celtic Wheel of the Year, and in the northern hemisphere, the arrival of Autumn actually starts earlier. From the Summer Solstice in June, the daylight hours begin to decrease each day until they reach their shortest duration at the Winter Solstice. Lughnasadh in early August is traditionally recognized as the First Harvest of Autumn, followed by the Second Harvest of Mabon (the Fall Equinox) and then the Third Harvest at Samhain, also marking the start of Winter.

One of my rituals has always been communing with Mother Earth every day… I love entraining with Her energies… noticing the subtle changes as She moves through her cycles, her seasons. And today I see more and more fallen leaves of vibrant reds, yellows and magenta… and I am starting to notice those Autumn aromas.

Some people run at the sight of those changing leaves… The end of summer! Oh No! But not me 🌞 I just think… time to harvest, time to start preparing for Mabon (Fall Equinox), time for the trees (and us!) to start turning inward, to rest, to prepare for Winter and the eventual return of Spring.

And, for me, time to start gathering leaves for a new ecodyeing project!!!

To each her/his own. 🌞

How do you feel about the coming Autumn
(or Spring, if you live south of the Equator)?


 

WP Sidebar graphics-5WP Sidebar graphics-7WP Sidebar graphics-4

 

2 comments

  1. hocuspocus13 · August 31

    Reblogged this on hocuspocus13 and commented:
    jinxx🔥xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

